2018 Crop Production Week Agenda

Saskatchewan Seed Growers Association
Crop Production Week Agenda

Saskatoon Inn January 08-11, 2018

Wednesday, January 10, 2018

12:30 pm SSGA Annual Meeting Registration and Coffee (Ballroom B)
1:00 pm SSGA Annual Business meeting

President’s Report – Cathy Fedoruk
Executive Director’s Report – Dave Akister

Committee Reports
– Education & Publicity – Mike Shewchuk
– National Directors’ Report – Joe Rennick, Bob Rugg
– Financial Report – Dave Akister

Presentation of 2018 Budget – Shawn Fraser
– Appointment of Auditor for 2018

2:30 pm Pedigreed Seed: Quantity, Quality, Questions

– Bruce Carriere, Discovery Seed Lab, Saskatoon, SK

3:00 pm Refreshment Break

3:30 pm Modernizing the Seed Industry: What do Stakeholders REALLY Need?

– Panellists:

– Kevin Runnalls, Seed Grower, New Liskeard, ON
– Ian Affleck, Executive Director, Plant Biotechnology, CropLife Canada, Ottawa, ON
– Dr. Bryan Harvey, Barley Breeder, Crop Development Centre, Saskatoon, SK
– Jeff Reid, General Manager, SeCan, Ottawa, ON
– Moderator:
-Jonathan Nyborg, First Vice President, Canadian Seed Growers Association, New-Denmark, NB

5:15 pm Recess

6:00 pm Cocktail Hour – hosted by CPS Proven Seed (Ballroom C)

7:00 pm Banquet & Awards Presentations (Ballroom B)

Thursday, January 11, 2018

7:00 am Breakfast – hosted by Seed Depot (Ballroom B)

8:00 am Canadian Seed Growers Association Update

– Kevin Runnalls, President, New Liskeard, ON
– Glyn Chancey, Executive Director, Ottawa, ON

9:00 am Standardizing a Vigour Test for Cereals: An Update

– Morgan Webb, President, Commercial Seed Analysts Asscociation of Canada, Leduc, AB

9:30 am Protecting the Sm1 Gene: What’s next

– Todd Hyra, SeCan, Winnipeg, MB

10:00 am Refreshment Break

10:20 am Saskatchewan Ministry of Agriculture: Year in Review

– Mitchell Japp, Provincial Crop Specialist

10:30 am Nominating Committee Report

– Election of Officers

10:45 pm New Varieties Update:

– Dr. Richard Cuthbert, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Swift Current
– Dr. Pierre Hucl, Crop Development Centre, U of S, Saskatoon

11:15 am Resolutions Committee Report

11:40 am Adjournment

11:45 am Member to Member Session – Attendance Limited to Seed Growers only

– Moderator: Roy Klym, Past President, SSGA